Home Entertainment ‘Fela Kuti Box Set #4’ Curated by Erykah Badu (Audio)

‘Fela Kuti Box Set #4’ Curated by Erykah Badu (Audio)

by Joseph
Fela Kuti Box Set #4

Fela Kuti Box Set #4

Two legends of music cross paths across time thanks to the latest release in Knitting Factory Records’ ongoing series of Fela Kuti retrospectives. It’s Fela Kuti Box Set #4, this entry in the series having been personally curated by Erykah Badu. If you’re not familiar with Kuti’s work, Badu offered a handy listening guide to go along with the set:

“Fela Kuti is a Fucking Genius. Please listen to these tracks, preferably with a nice blunt.. with a nice slow burn.”

Badu’s selections for Fela Kuti Box Set #4 are as follows: Yellow Fever (1976), No Agreement (1977), J.J.D. (Johnny Just Drop) (1977), V.I.P. (1979), Coffin For Head of State (1980), Army Arrangement (1984), and Underground System (1992). Each album comes with its own “personal essay” by Badu, and the set also includes “in-depth commentaries by veteran music journalist and Afrobeat historian, Chris May.”

Fela Kuti Box Set #4 will reportedly be out on December 15th in a limited edition run of 3,000 copies. In the meantime, listen to a remastered track from the set below.



You may also like